Sorry, you need to enable JavaScript to visit this website.


Judicial Nomination Commission

DC Agency Top Menu

-A +A
Bookmark and Share

Bianca Garcia Named Executive Director of the Judicial Nomination Commission

Tuesday, February 20, 2018

The District of Columbia Judicial Nomination Commission (“Commission”) is delighted to announce that Bianca Garcia, Esq., has been named Executive Director of the Commission.  Ms. Garcia joins the Commission after several years of public service, and with a diverse range of experience that includes academic teaching, strategic planning, budget development, and management. 

Prior to joining the Commission, Ms. Garcia served as an attorney-advisor for the Board of Veterans’ Appeals, the division of the United States Department of Veterans Affairs that is responsible for deciding appeals pertaining to the provision of benefits to veterans or their dependents or survivors. Prior to her work at the Board of Veterans’ Appeals, Ms. Garcia served as a law clerk to Magistrate Judges Kenia Seoane Lopez, Elizabeth Carroll Wingo (currently Associate Judge), Aida Melendez (retired), and Gretchen Rohr (former) of the Superior Court of the District of Columbia. Prior to serving as a law clerk, Ms. Garcia was a graduate teaching fellow at the American University Washington College of Law, where she both taught Legal Rhetoric, an intensive first-year legal writing course, and also worked with the Legal Rhetoric Program’s full-time faculty to plan and supervise the program. Ms. Garcia currently teaches Legal Rhetoric as an adjunct professor at the Washington College of Law. 

Prior to attending law school, Ms. Garcia worked for a residential interior design firm with a high-profile client base, where as the office manager, she had an active role in developing budgets for complex, multi-phase projects, and in managing the firm’s operational budget. 

Ms. Garcia received a Bachelor of Arts degree in art history from the University of Illinois at Chicago, and earned a Juris Doctor degree, cum laude, from American University Washington College of Law.

Questions concerning the District of Columbia Judicial Nomination Commission should be directed to the Executive Director at (202) 879-0478 or via email at [email protected]

Members of the District of Columbia Judicial Nomination Commission

Honorable Emmet G. Sullivan, Chair
United States District Court for the District of Columbia
United States Courthouse
333 Constitution Avenue, NW
Chambers 4935-Annex
Washington, DC  20001
(202) 354-3260
[email protected]

Ronald S. Flagg, Esq.
Legal Services Corporation
3333 K Street, NW
Washington, DC 20007
(202) 295-1620
[email protected]

Mr. William Lucy
1831 Sudbury Lane, NW
Washington, DC  20012
(301) 520-0576
[email protected]

John J. McAvoy, Esq.
3110 Brandywine Street, NW
Washington, DC  20008
(202) 966-8544
[email protected]

Addy R. Schmitt, Esq.
Miller & Chevalier, Chtd.
900 16th Street, NW
Washington, DC 20006
[email protected]

The Honorable Marie C. Johns
Leftwich LLC
1400 K Street, NW
Suite 1000
Washington, DC 20005-2403
(202) 434-9124
[email protected]

Benjamin F. Wilson, Esq.
Beveridge & Diamond, PC
1350 I St NW, #700
Washington, DC 20005
(202) 789-6023
[email protected]