Sorry, you need to enable JavaScript to visit this website.


Judicial Nomination Commission

DC Agency Top Menu

-A +A
Bookmark and Share

Judicial Nomination Commission Invites Comments on Applicants for Pending Judicial Vacancy

Thursday, October 12, 2017

Members of the bench, bar, and public are hereby notified by the District of Columbia Judicial Nomination Commission (the “Commission”) that there are thirty (30) applicants for the pending vacancy on the Superior Court of the District of Columbia, created by the retirement of Judge Frederick Weisberg. The Commission will submit the names of three applicants to the President of the United States for his consideration to nominate and appoint a judge. The applicants are:

Magdalena A. Acevedo
Hon. Errol R. Arthur
Mark D. Back
Sheila B. Berman
Hon. Rahkel Bouchet
Hon. Julie R. Breslow
Cory M. Chandler
Ann Marie Duffy
Nebiyu Feleke
Eric S. Glover
Hon. Sharon E. Goodie
Hon. Heide L. Herrmann
Kelly A. Higashi
Karlyn J. Hunter
Hon. Jacqueline M. Ivey
Lee W. Jackson
Catrina M. Jones
Hon. Tanya M. Jones Bosier
Jason H. Lederstein
Hon. Diane Lepley
Elbert L. Maxwell, II
Hon. Shelly A. Mulkey
Hon. Lloyd U. Nolan
Edward A. O’Connell
Peter C. Pfaffenroth
Judith E. Pipe
Caroline S. Platt
Hon. Kenia Seoane López
Eli D. Wood
Melissa F. Zappala

The Commission invites comments no later than November 14, 2017 regarding the fitness of the above-listed applicants for a judicial position on the Superior Court of the District of Columbia. Applicants can be evaluated with respect to eight categories:

  • Judicial Temperament (e.g., ability to treat everyone with respect; willingness to listen with patience and courtesy; collegiality);
  • Professional Skills and Abilities (e.g., experience; intellectual ability; analytical skills; knowledge of the law and its underlying principles; knowledge of the rules of procedure and evidence; ability and willingness to learn and develop professionally);
  • Ethics (e.g., integrity; impartiality; objectivity; sound judgment; restraint);
  • Commitment to Diversity (e.g., treats people equally, fairly and with respect, regardless of gender, race, national origin, economic status, sexual orientation or any other factor; promotes inclusiveness of women and minorities);
  • Leadership and Communication Skills (e.g., ability to communicate clearly and succinctly; ability to inspire respect and confidence; decisiveness);
  • Efficiency and Organizational Skills (e.g., ability to work efficiently and under time constraints; ability to work constructively with others; ability to manage time);
  • Writing Skills (e.g., ability to write clearly, concisely and persuasively); and
  • Community Service (e.g., pro bono activities; public service; volunteer activities; civic or charitable activities or memberships).

The Commission has created a web-based survey to facilitate the comment process, available at: Comments may also be provided by letter, and should address the categories above. Letters are to be sent to the Commission via mail (515 5th Street, NW, Suite 235, Washington, DC 20001), email ([email protected]) or fax ((202) 879-0755). All comments must be received no later than November 14, 2017.

All comments submitted to the Commission become part of an applicant’s confidential file for two years. They will not be publicly released or provided to the applicant. The content of any comments discussed with an applicant will not reveal the source of such comment, absent written consent by the individual providing the comment.

Any technical problems or questions should be directed to the Commission at (202) 879-0477 or [email protected].