Sorry, you need to enable JavaScript to visit this website.


Judicial Nomination Commission

DC Agency Top Menu

-A +A
Bookmark and Share

JNC Announces Judicial Vacancy on the Superior Court of the District of Columbia

Wednesday, September 17, 2008

Members of the bar, bench and public are hereby notified by the District of Columbia Judicial Nomination Commission ("the Commission") that a vacancy on the Superior Court of the District of Columbia will occur as a result of the retirement of the Honorable Rufus G. King, III, as an Associate Judge effective September 30, 2008.

Within 60 days of a vacancy, the Commission is to submit to the President of the United States the names of three persons for possible nomination and appointment to the Court. DC Code § 1-204.34. Accordingly, the Commission invites individuals to notify the Commission of their interest in being considered for this vacancy. Qualified applicants must be citizens of the United States, active members of the District of Columbia Bar, bona fide residents of the District of Columbia, and, for the five-year period immediately preceding the nomination, must be engaged in the active practice of law in the District of Columbia, on the faculty of a law school in the District of Columbia, or employed as an attorney by the United States or the District of Columbia government. For the precise eligibility requirements, please refer to DC Code § 1-204.33(b).

All persons interested in applying for a judicial vacancy must review and comply with the instructions and application materials on the Commission’s website, All applications and correspondence should be addressed to the Honorable Emmet G. Sullivan, Chairperson, Judicial Nomination Commission, 515 5th Street, NW, Suite 235, Washington, DC, 20001. In addition to the required paper copies of the application and/or letter of interest submitted to the Commission, a copy in PDF format must be sent via electronic mail to the Judicial Nomination Commission at [email protected] and to each of the Commission members at the email addresses below.  All application materials must be received by October 10, 2008.  Incomplete and/or untimely applications will not be considered. 

All questions concerning the application process should be directed to the Commission’s Chairperson, the Honorable Emmet G. Sullivan, at (202) 354-3260 or [email protected].
Members of the Commission


The Honorable Emmet G. Sullivan
United States District Court
  for the District of Columbia
United States Courthouse
333 Constitution Avenue, NW
Washington, DC 20001
(202) 354-3260
[email protected]

Brooksley Born, Esquire
Arnold & Porter
555 12th Street, NW
Washington, DC 20004
(202) 942-5832
[email protected]

Mr. William Lucy
American Federation of State, 
County & Municipal Employees,AFL-CIO
1625 L Street, NW
Washington, DC 20036
(202) 429-1200
c/o [email protected]

Natalie O. Ludaway, Esquire
Leftwich & Ludaway LLP
1400 K Street NW
Washington, DC 20005-2403
(202) 434-9103
[email protected]

Rev. Morris L. Shearin, Sr., D. Min.
Israel Baptist Church
1251 Saratoga Ave, NE
Washington, DC 20018
(202) 269-0288
[email protected]

Karl A. Racine, Esquire
Venable LLP
575 7th Street, NW
Washington, DC 20004
(202) 344-8322
[email protected]

Helgi C. Walker, Esquire
Wiley Rein & Fielding
1776 K Street, NW
Washington, DC 20006
(202) 719-7349
[email protected]