Sorry, you need to enable JavaScript to visit this website.


Judicial Nomination Commission

DC Agency Top Menu

-A +A
Bookmark and Share

JNC Recommends Replacement Candidate for DC Court of Appeals Vacancy

Tuesday, July 26, 2022

The District of Columbia Judicial Nomination Commission (Commission) has been advised by the President that he has withdrawn the nomination of Tovah Calderon, Esq., at her request, to fill the vacancy on the District of Columbia Court of Appeals created by the retirement of the Honorable Kathryn A. Oberly.

In accordance with D.C. Code § 1-204.34(d)(2) and DCMR § 28-2103.5, the Commission recommends the Honorable Anthony C. Epstein. for the President’s consideration, along with any other candidates previously recommended:

Hon. Anthony C. Epstein has been an associate judge of the Superior Court of the District of Columbia (Superior Court) since 2008. He currently serves as Presiding Judge of the Civil Division and previously served in the Criminal Division and the Family Court.

Judge Epstein is currently a member of the Advisory Committee on Judicial Conduct for the D.C. Courts and serves on the Committee on Superior Court Rules and the Advisory Committee on Civil Rules. He served on the D.C. Court of Appeals Committee on Unauthorized Practice of Law from 1998 to 2008.

Before his appointment to Superior Court, Judge Epstein served at the United States Department of Justice. He also served in private practice at the law firms of Jenner & Block and Steptoe & Johnson, where he represented clients in a wide range of civil and criminal litigation in state and federal courts around the country and before federal agencies. Throughout his career as an attorney, he made a substantial commitment to pro bono work and has worked as a judge to improve access to justice.

Judge Epstein received his Bachelor of Arts degree from Yale College and Juris Doctor from Yale Law School. Following law school, he served as a law clerk to the Honorable Charles B. Renfrew on the United States District Court for the Northern District of California.

Members of the District of Columbia Judicial Nomination Commission

Honorable Emmet G. Sullivan, Chair
United States District Court
for the District of Columbia
United States Courthouse
333 Constitution Avenue, NW
Chambers 4935-Annex
Washington, DC 20001
(202) 354-3260
[email protected]

Addy R. Schmitt, Esq.
Miller & Chevalier, Chtd.
900 16th Street, NW
Washington, DC 20006
(202) 626-5837
[email protected]

Benjamin F. Wilson, Esq.
7825 Orchid Street, NW
Washington, DC 20012
(202) 657-2534
[email protected]

The Honorable Marie C. Johns
1400 K Street, NW
Suite 1000
Washington, DC 20005-2403
(202) 434-9124
[email protected]

Vincent H. Cohen, Jr., Esq.
Dechert LLP
1900 K Street, NW
Washington, DC 20006-1110
(202) 261-3432
[email protected]

Yaida O. Ford, Esq.
Ford Law Pros P.C.
1001 L Street, SE
Washington, DC 20003
(202) 792-4946
[email protected]

The Honorable Linda W. Cropp
4001 18th Street, NW
Washington, DC 20011
(202) 726-0505
[email protected]