Sorry, you need to enable JavaScript to visit this website.


Judicial Nomination Commission

DC Agency Top Menu

-A +A
Bookmark and Share

JNC Recommends Replacement Candidate for DC Superior Court Vacancy

Thursday, April 8, 2021

The District of Columbia Judicial Nomination Commission (Commission) has advised the President that Melissa F. Zappala, Esq., who had been recommended for his consideration to nominate and appoint a judge on the Superior Court of the District of Columbia created by the retirement of the Honorable Wendell P. Gardner, Jr., has withdrawn her candidacy.

In accordance with D.C. Code § 1-204.34(d)(2) and DCMR § 28-2103.5, the Commission recommends Alice E. Loughran, Esq. for the President’s consideration:

Alice E. Loughran, Esq., is a civil litigation and appellate partner at Steptoe & Johnson LLP. Ms. Loughran joined Steptoe & Johnson LLP in September 2000 and was elected partner in 2013. While at Steptoe, Ms. Loughran has carried a docket of complex civil litigation and appellate work. She has worked on cases at every level, from the trial court, to the appellate court, to the U.S. Supreme Court. Her areas of representations are broad and diverse.

Prior to Steptoe, Ms. Loughran sharpened her litigation skills during her five-year tenure at the United States Department of Justice, starting in the Honor’s Program. She worked initially at the Board of Immigration Appeals and then at the Office of Immigration Litigation. She received a Special Achievement Award at the Department of Justice in March 2000.

In November 2018, Ms. Loughran was recognized as a “most valuable player” by Law360 based on her legal work for the railroad industry. She is the first appellate lawyer to receive the Recognition of Excellence Award from the National Association of Railroad Trial Counsel. She was also recognized in the 2009 Appellate Hot List of the National Law Journal.

After receiving her undergraduate degree from DePauw University, Ms. Loughran served in the U.S. Peace Corps for a three-year stint in the Dominican Republic. Ms. Loughran then attended law school at the John Marshall Law School in Chicago, graduating cum laude.

Members of the District of Columbia Judicial Nomination Commission

Honorable Emmet G. Sullivan, Chair
United States District Court for the District of Columbia
United States Courthouse
333 Constitution Avenue, NW
Chambers 4935-Annex
Washington, DC  20001
(202) 354-3260
[email protected]

Mr. William Lucy
1831 Sudbury Lane, NW
Washington, DC  20012
(301) 520-0576
[email protected]

John J. McAvoy, Esq.
3110 Brandywine Street, NW
Washington, DC  20008
(202) 966-8544
[email protected]

Addy R. Schmitt, Esq.
Miller & Chevalier, Chtd.
900 16th Street, NW
Black Lives Matter Plaza
Washington, DC 20006
(202) 626-5837
[email protected]

Benjamin F. Wilson, Esq.
Beveridge & Diamond, PC
1350 I St NW, #700
Washington, DC 20005
(202) 789-6023
[email protected]

The Honorable Marie C. Johns
1400 K Street, NW
Suite 1000
Washington, DC 20005-2403
(202) 434-9124
[email protected]

Professor Deborah Epstein
Georgetown University Law Center
600 New Jersey Avenue, NW
Suite 334
Washington, DC 20001
(202) 662-9675
[email protected]