Sorry, you need to enable JavaScript to visit this website.


Judicial Nomination Commission

DC Agency Top Menu

-A +A
Bookmark and Share

Judicial Nomination Commission Announces Candidates for Chief Judge of the Superior Court of the District of Columbia and Invites Public Comment

Monday, June 23, 2008

(Washington, DC) The Honorable Anita Josey-Herring and the Honorable Lee F. Satterfield are candidates for the position of Chief Judge of the Superior Court of the District of Columbia. These candidates will be considered by the Judicial Nomination Commission (“Commission”) for designation to a four-year term as Chief Judge, upon the resignation of the Honorable Rufus G. King, III on September 30, 2008.

The candidates have submitted statements of interest in the Chief Judge position. These statements are available on the Commission's website,, or by viewing the links below.  In addition to these statements, each candidate submitted numerous other materials in support of his or her candidacy.  These materials are available for review, by appointment, at the Commission's office, 515 5th Street, NW, Suite 235, Washington, DC. To schedule an appointment to review the candidates' full submissions, please call Peggy Williams-Smith at (202) 879-0478.

The Commission is inviting comments from the Bench, Bar and public regarding the fitness of these candidates for designation as Chief Judge. Comments should be submitted in writing and mailed or delivered to the Honorable Emmet G. Sullivan, Chairperson, Judicial Nomination Commission, 515 5th Street, NW, Suite 235, Washington, DC, 20001, and must be received by no later than August 8, 2008.  In addition to any written submissions sent to the Commission’s office, a copy in PDF format must be sent via electronic mail to Judge Sullivan, Chairperson, at [email protected]. Any comments received by the Commission will be considered confidential and will not be released to the public. Any comments discussed with a candidate will be discussed without revealing the source of such comments, absent written consent by the individual or organization providing the comment.

Members of the Commission:

The Honorable Emmet G. Sullivan
United States District Court for the District of Columbia
United States Courthouse
333 Constitution Avenue, NW
Washington, D.C. 20001
(202) 354-3260

Brooksley Born, Esquire
Arnold & Porter
555 12th Street, NW
Washington, DC 20004
(202) 942-5832

Mr. William Lucy
American Federation of State, County & Municipal Employees, AFL-CIO
1625 L Street, NW
Washington, D.C. 20036
(202) 429-1200

Natalie O. Ludaway, Esquire
Leftwich & Ludaway LLP
1400 K Street NW
Washington, DC 20005-2403
(202) 434-9103

Karl A. Racine, Esquire
Venable LLP
575 7th Street, NW
Washington, DC 20004
(202) 344-8322

Rev. Morris L. Shearin, Sr., D.Min.
Israel Baptist Church
1251 Saratoga Ave., NE
Washington, DC 20018
(202) 269-0288

Helgi C. Walker, Esquire
Wiley Rein & Fielding
1776 K Street, NW
Washington, DC 20006
(202) 719-7349