Judicial Nomination Commission

DC Agency Top Menu

-A +A
Bookmark and Share

Judicial Nomination Commission Invites Comments on Applicants for Pending Judicial Vacancies

Monday, June 22, 2015

Members of the bench, bar, and public are hereby notified by the District of Columbia Judicial Nomination Commission (the “Commission”) that there are  sixteen (16) applicants for the pending vacancies on the Superior Court of the District of Columbia, created by the retirements of the Hon. Ann O’Regan Keary and the Hon. Harold L. Cushenberry, Jr.  The Commission will submit the names of three applicants for each vacancy to the President of the United States for his consideration to nominate and appoint a judge.  The applicants are: 

Mark D. Back Lee Wilbert Jackson
Steven N. Berk Sarah Leslie Knapp
Hon. Rainey Ransom Brandt Theodore (“Jack”) Paul Metzler, Jr.
Alan R. Burch Jonathan H. Pittman
Hon.  Claudia Anne Crichlow Pamela Stever Satterfield
Ralph C. Ferrara Hon. Sean C. Staples
Hon. Sharon E. Goodie Jason D. Tulley
Hon. Paul Brooks Handy Hon. Elizabeth C. Wingo

The Commission invites comments regarding the fitness of the above-listed applicants for a judicial position on the Superior Court of the District of Columbia.   Applicants can be evaluated with respect to eight categories:   

  1. Judicial Temperament (e.g., ability to treat everyone with respect; willingness to listen with patience and courtesy; collegiality); 
  2. Professional Skills and Abilities (e.g., experience; intellectual ability; analytical skills; knowledge of the law and its underlying principles; knowledge of the rules of procedure and evidence; ability and willingness to learn and develop professionally);  
  3. Ethics (e.g., integrity; impartiality; objectivity; sound judgment; restraint);
  4. Commitment to Diversity (e.g., treats people equally, fairly and with respect, regardless of gender, race, national origin, economic status, sexual orientation or any other factor; promotes inclusiveness of women and minorities);
  5. Leadership and Communication Skills (e.g., ability to communicate clearly and succinctly; ability to inspire respect and confidence; decisiveness);
  6. Efficiency and Organizational Skills (e.g., ability to work efficiently and under time constraints; ability to work constructively with others; ability to manage time);  
  7. Writing Skills (e.g., ability to write clearly, concisely and persuasively);
  8. Community Service (e.g., pro bono activities; public service; volunteer activities; civic or charitable activities or memberships).

The Commission has created a web-based Applicant Evaluation Process to facilitate the opportunity to provide comments on the applicants’ qualifications.  Comments may also be provided by letter, and should address the categories above.  Letters are to be sent to the Commission via mail 515 5th Street, NW, Suite 235, Washington, DC  20001, email [email protected] or fax (202) 879-0755.     All comments must be received by no later than July 23, 2015.

All comments submitted to the Commission become part of an applicant’s confidential file.  They will not be publicly released or provided to the applicant.    The content of any comments discussed with an applicant will not reveal the source of such comment, absent written consent by the individual providing the comment.

Any technical problems or questions should be directed to the Commission’s Executive Director at (202) 879-0478 or [email protected].