Sorry, you need to enable JavaScript to visit this website.


Judicial Nomination Commission

DC Agency Top Menu

-A +A
Bookmark and Share

Judicial Nomination Commission Invites Comments on Applicants for Pending Judicial Vacancies

Friday, May 13, 2016

Members of the bench, bar, and public are hereby notified by the District of Columbia Judicial Nomination Commission (the “Commission”) that there are twenty-one (21) applicants for the pending vacancies on the Superior Court of the District of Columbia, created by the upcoming retirements of the Hon. Melvin R. Wright and the Hon. Rhonda Reid Winston. The Commission will submit the names of three applicants for each vacancy to the President of the United States for his consideration to nominate and appoint a judge. The applicants are:

  • Maria Claudia T.C. Amato
  • Hon. Errol Rajesh Arthur
  • Mark D. Back
  • Hon. Julie R. Breslow
  • Catherine S. Bruno
  • Alan R. Burch
  • Hon. Sharon E. Goodie
  • Emily A. Gunston
  • Hon. Paul B. Handy
  • Aminata F.N. Ipyana
  • Deborah J. Israel
  • Lee W. Jackson
  • Elbert L. Maxwell, II
  • Carmen Guerricagoitia McLean
  • Hon. Leslie A. Meek
  • Willa B. Perlmutter
  • Jonathan H. Pittman
  • S. Micah Salb
  • Denise O. Simpson
  • Hon. Sean C. Staples
  • Jason D. Tulley

The Commission invites comments by June 13, 2016 regarding the fitness of the above-listed applicants for a judicial position on the Superior Court of the District of Columbia. Applicants can be evaluated with respect to eight categories:

  1. Judicial Temperament (e.g., ability to treat everyone with respect; willingness to listen with patience and courtesy; collegiality);
  2. Professional Skills and Abilities (e.g., experience; intellectual ability; analytical skills; knowledge of the law and its underlying principles; knowledge of the rules of procedure and evidence; ability and willingness to learn and develop professionally);
  3. Ethics (e.g., integrity; impartiality; objectivity; sound judgment; restraint);
  4. Commitment to Diversity (e.g., treats people equally, fairly and with respect, regardless of gender, race, national origin, economic status, sexual orientation or any other factor; promotes inclusiveness of women and minorities);
  5. Leadership and Communication Skills (e.g., ability to communicate clearly and succinctly; ability to inspire respect and confidence; decisiveness);
  6. Efficiency and Organizational Skills (e.g., ability to work efficiently and under time constraints; ability to work constructively with others; ability to manage time);
  7. Writing Skills (e.g., ability to write clearly, concisely and persuasively); and
  8. Community Service (e.g., pro bono activities; public service; volunteer activities; civic or charitable activities or memberships).

The Commission has created a web-based survey to facilitate the comment process, available at: Comments may also be provided by letter, and should address the categories above. Letters are to be sent to the Commission via mail (515 5th Street, NW, Suite 235, Washington, DC 20001), email ([email protected]) or fax ((202) 879-0755), with a copy to each Commissioner (contact information attached). All comments must be received by no later than June 13, 2016.

All comments submitted to the Commission become part of an applicant’s confidential file for a period of two years. They will not be publicly released or provided to the applicant. The content of any comments discussed with an applicant will not reveal the source of such comment, absent written consent by the individual providing the comment.

Any technical problems or questions should be directed to the Commission’s Executive Director at (202) 879-0478 or [email protected].

The Commission members are:

Honorable Emmet G. Sullivan, Chair
United States District Court for the District of Columbia
United States Courthouse
333 Constitution Avenue, NW
Chambers 4935-Annex
Washington, DC 20001
(202) 354-3260
[email protected]

Ronald S. Flagg, Esq.
Legal Services Corporation
3333 K Street, NW
Washington, DC 20007
(202) 295-1620
[email protected]

Mr. William Lucy
Vice President, AFL-CIO
1831 Sudbury Lane, NW
Washington, DC 20012
(301) 520-0576
[email protected]

Natalie O. Ludaway, Esq.
Office of the Attorney General
441 4th Street, NW, Suite 1100 S
Washington, DC 20001
(202) 724-1521
[email protected]

John J. McAvoy, Esq.
3110 Brandywine Street, NW
Washington, DC 20008
(202) 966-8544
[email protected]

Woody N. Peterson, Esq.
1775 Pennsylvania Avenue, Suite 375
Washington, DC, 20006
D (202) 899-4103
F (612) 336-9100
[email protected]

Rev. Morris L. Shearin, Sr.
Israel Baptist Church
1251 Saratoga Avenue, NE
Washington, DC 20018
(202) 269-0288
[email protected]