Sorry, you need to enable JavaScript to visit this website.


Judicial Nomination Commission

DC Agency Top Menu

-A +A
Bookmark and Share

Judicial Nomination Commission Seeks New Executive Director

Monday, July 6, 2020

The Judicial Nomination Commission (the “Commission”) is seeking qualified candidates to apply for the position of Executive Director. The seven-member Commission was established by the District of Columbia Self-Government and Governmental Reorganization Act of December 24, 1973 (known as the “Home Rule Act”). Under authorities in this Act, the Commission has full jurisdiction over the process for the selection of candidates to be recommended to the President of the United States to fill judicial vacancies in the District of Columbia courts, specifically the District of Columbia Court of Appeals and the Superior Court of the District of Columbia. The Commission also appoints the chief judges for both courts. The incumbent serves as an authoritative advisor within the area of assignment and reports to the Commission’s chairperson. The salary range for this position is from $100,357 to $150,537.

Interested individuals may learn more about the position by visiting, and are encouraged to apply as soon as possible. The position will remain open until filled.

Members of the District of Columbia Judicial Nomination Commission

Honorable Emmet G. Sullivan, Chair
United States District Court for the District of Columbia
United States Courthouse
333 Constitution Avenue, NW
Chambers 4935-Annex
Washington, DC  20001
(202) 354-3260
[email protected]

Mr. William Lucy
1831 Sudbury Lane, NW
Washington, DC  20012
(301) 520-0576
[email protected]

John J. McAvoy, Esq.
3110 Brandywine Street, NW
Washington, DC  20008
(202) 966-8544
[email protected]

Addy R. Schmitt, Esq.
Miller & Chevalier, Chtd.
900 16th Street, NW
Washington, DC 20006
[email protected]

Benjamin F. Wilson, Esq.
Beveridge & Diamond, PC
1350 I St NW, #700
Washington, DC 20005
(202) 789-6023
[email protected]

The Honorable Marie C. Johns
1400 K Street, NW
Suite 1000
Washington, DC 20005-2403
(202) 434-9124
[email protected]

Professor Deborah Epstein
Georgetown University Law Center
600 New Jersey Avenue, NW
Suite 334
Washington, DC 20001
(202) 662-9675
[email protected]