Sorry, you need to enable JavaScript to visit this website.


Judicial Nomination Commission

DC Agency Top Menu

-A +A
Bookmark and Share

Judicial Vacancy Application Deadline Extended

Thursday, April 27, 2017

On March 6, 2017, the District of Columbia Judicial Nomination Commission (“Commission”) posted a notice of a vacancy on the Superior Court of the District of Columbia, occurring  as a result of the anticipated retirement of the Honorable Gregory E. Jackson, effective July 21, 2017.  

The Commission hereby provides notice that the date to apply for this vacancy has been extended to June 22, 2017. The Commission invites qualified individuals to apply by 12 pm on Thursday, June 22, 2017.  See D.C. Code §§ 1-204.31, 1-204.33. Application materials, including instructions, are available on the Commission’s website:  

Please note that the Commission approved a revised JNC Form 21 Applicant Questionnaire in January 2017. All applications must be submitted using the new JNC Form 21. Individuals who submitted the revised JNC Form 21 for a vacancy on a District of Columbia Court in 2017 may submit a short-form JNC Form 21A, with appropriate attachments.  

All persons interested in applying for this judicial vacancy shall review and comply with the application instructions on the Commission’s website. Applicants shall submit an original and one paper copy of their complete application materials to the Executive Director. All application materials and correspondence shall be addressed to Katherine L. Garrett, Executive Director, Judicial Nomination Commission, 515 Fifth Street, NW, Suite 235, Washington, DC  20001. All application materials must be received no later than 12 pm on June 22, 2017. Late, incomplete, or outdated application materials will not be considered.   

The Commission does not require letters of recommendation, letters of support, or endorsements, but will accept them. Such letters must be received by the Commission no later than 5 pm on July 20, 2017. Consult the application instructions on the Commission‘s website for additional information on the procedures for submitting letters. 

Questions concerning the judicial vacancy application process shall be directed to the Commission’s Executive Director at (202) 879-0478 or [email protected]. If you have questions about the application process, please participate in an open conference call with the Commission’s Executive Director. Dates and dial-in information are on the Commission’s website. 

Members of the District of Columbia Judicial Nomination Commission

Honorable Emmet G. Sullivan, Chair
United States District Court for the District of Columbia
United States Courthouse
333 Constitution Avenue, NW
Chambers 4935-Annex
Washington, DC  20001
(202) 354-3260
[email protected]

Ronald S. Flagg, Esq.
Legal Services Corporation
3333 K Street, NW
Washington, DC 20007
(202) 295-1620
[email protected]

Mr. William Lucy
1831 Sudbury Lane, NW
Washington, DC  20012
(301) 520-0576
[email protected]

John J. McAvoy, Esq.
3110 Brandywine Street, NW
Washington, DC  20008
(202) 966-8544
[email protected]

Addy R. Schmitt, Esq.
Miller & Chevalier, Chtd.
900 16th Street, NW
Washington, DC 20006
[email protected]

Rev. Morris L. Shearin, Sr.                        
Israel Baptist Church
1251 Saratoga Avenue, NE
Washington, DC  20018
(202) 269-0288
[email protected]

Benjamin F. Wilson, Esq.
Beveridge & Diamond, PC
1350 I St NW, #700
Washington, DC 20005
(202) 789-6023
[email protected]