Sorry, you need to enable JavaScript to visit this website.


Judicial Nomination Commission

DC Agency Top Menu

-A +A
Bookmark and Share

Notice of Expiration of Term of the Chief Judge of the Superior Court of the District of Columbia

Monday, April 4, 2016

The District of Columbia Judicial Nomination Commission (“Commission”) is responsible for designating the Chief Judge of the Superior Court of the District of Columbia (“Superior Court”) from among the judges of the Court in regular active service.  See D.C. Code § 1-204.31(b).  The four-year term of the Honorable Lee F. Satterfield as Chief Judge of the Superior Court expires effective September 30, 2016.       

All judges in regular active service on the Superior Court, including Chief Judge Satterfield, are eligible to apply for designation of up to four-years as Chief Judge by submitting a statement of interest to the Commission.  Any individual, organization, or bar association may nominate an eligible active judge for the position of Chief Judge, with the consent of the judge.  

All statements of interest and nominations must be in writing, and must be received by the Commission no later than 12 pm on May 9, 2016.  Statements of interest and nominations must address the candidate’s (a) interest in court administration; (b) administrative and management ability and experience; (c) ability to lead the Court and to promote a sense of cooperation and collegiality among the judges, the Court staff, and other governmental and non-governmental entities; (d) ability to promote confidence in the Court and the judicial system; and (e) ability to provide intellectual leadership.  In addition to a statement of interest, all candidates must timely submit:   

  • JNC Form 22 – Identification Form
  • JNC Form 23 – General Release
  • JNC Form 24 – IRS Tax Check Waiver
  • JNC Form 25 – DC Tax Check Waiver
  • JNC Form 26 – Release (notarized)
  • JNC Form 27 – Medical Certification
  • PD Form 70 – MPD Criminal History Request 

Detailed instructions are on the Commission’s website,, as is a list of current Commission members.  

The Commission will publish the names and statements of interest of the candidates.  Comments on candidates from the bench, bar, and public are welcome, and must be received no later than 5 pm on June 6, 2016.   More information is available on the Commission’s website.