Judicial Nomination Commission

DC Agency Top Menu

-A +A
Bookmark and Share

Notice of Judicial Vacancy Created by the Retirement of the Honorable Lee F. Satterfield

Wednesday, August 3, 2016

Members of the bench, bar, and public are hereby notified by the District of Columbia Judicial Nomination Commission (the “Commission”) that a vacancy on the Superior Court of the District of Columbia will occur as a result of the anticipated retirement of the Honorable Lee F. Satterfield, effective January 3, 2017. The Commission invites qualified individuals to apply for this vacancy by 12 pm on Thursday August 25, 2016.  See D.C. Code §§ 1-204.31, 1-204.33.  Application materials, including instructions, are available on the Commission’s website: www.jnc.dc.gov   

Individuals who submitted an application for the vacancies created by the retirements of Judges Wright, Winston, and Nash need only submit a PDF letter of interest. All other persons interested in applying for the judicial vacancy created by Judge Satterfield’s resignation shall review and comply with the application instructions on the Commission’s website. All application materials and correspondence shall be addressed to Katherine L. Garrett, Executive Director, Judicial Nomination Commission, 515 Fifth Street, NW, Suite 235, Washington, DC  20001, and, where requested, to individual Commissioners whose contact information is below. All application materials must be received no later than 12 pm Thursday August 25, 2016.  Late, incomplete, or outdated application materials will not be considered.

Please ensure that you follow the instructions, and submit appropriate paper and electronic copies of materials where requested. Detailed instructions are on the Commission’s website.
The Commission does not require letters of recommendation, letters of support, or endorsements, but will accept them. Such letters must be received by the Commission no later than 5 pm on September 22, 2016.   Consult the application instructions on the Commission‘s website for additional information on the procedures for submitting letters.  

Questions concerning the judicial vacancy application process shall be directed to the Commission’s Executive Director at (202) 879-0478 or [email protected]. If you have questions about the application process, please participate in an open conference call with the Commission’s Executive Director. Dates and dial-in information are on the Commission website.

Members of the District of Columbia Judicial Nomination Commission

Honorable Emmet G. Sullivan, Chair
United States District Court for the District of Columbia
United States Courthouse
333 Constitution Avenue, NW
Washington, DC 20001
(202) 354-3260
[email protected]

Ronald S. Flagg, Esquire
Legal Services Corporation
3333 K Street, NW
Washington, DC 20007
(202) 295-1620
[email protected]

Mr. William Lucy
Vice President, AFL-CIO
1831 Sudbury Lane, NW
Washington, DC 20012
(301) 520-0576
[email protected]

Natalie O. Ludaway, Esquire
Office of the Attorney General
441 4th St NW, Suite 1100 South
Washington, DC 20001
[email protected]

John J. McAvoy, Esquire
3110 Brandywine St, NW
Washington DC 20008
(202) 966-8544
[email protected]

Woody N. Peterson, Esquire
Zelle LLP
1775 Pennsylvania Avenue, NW
Suite 375
Washington, DC 20006
(202) 899-4103
[email protected]

Rev. Morris L. Shearin, Sr.
Israel Baptist Church
1251 Saratoga Avenue, NE
Washington, DC 20018
(202) 269-028
[email protected]