Judicial Nomination Commission

DC Agency Top Menu

-A +A
Bookmark and Share

Notice of Judicial Vacancy on the District of Columbia Court of Appeals

Wednesday, January 11, 2017

Members of the bench, bar, and public are hereby notified by the District of Columbia Judicial Nomination Commission (the “Commission”) that a vacancy on the District of Columbia Court of Appeals will occur as a result of the retirement of the Honorable Chief Judge Eric T. Washington, effective March 18, 2017.  The Commission invites qualified individuals to apply for this vacancy by 12 pm on Thursday February 23, 2017.  See D.C. Code §§ 1-204.31, 1-204.33.  Application materials, including instructions, are available on the Commission’s website: www.jnc.dc.gov

All persons interested in applying for this judicial vacancy shall review and comply with the application instructions on the Commission’s website.  Applicants shall submit an original and one paper copy of their complete application materials to the Executive Director.  Electronic copies/PDFs of application materials are no longer required.  Please do not email application materials.  All application materials and correspondence shall be addressed to Katherine L. Garrett, Executive Director, Judicial Nomination Commission, 515 Fifth Street, NW, Suite 235, Washington, DC  20001.  All application materials must be received no later than 12 pm Thursday, February 23, 2017.  Late, incomplete, or outdated application materials will not be considered.  
The Commission does not require letters of recommendation, letters of support, or endorsements, but will accept them.  Such letters must be received by the Commission no later than March 27, 2017.  Consult the application instructions on the Commission‘s website for additional information on the procedures for submitting letters.

Questions concerning the judicial vacancy application process shall be directed to the Commission’s Executive Director at (202) 879-0478 or [email protected]. If you have questions about the application process, please participate in an open conference call with the Commission’s Executive Director.  Dates and dial-in information are on the Commission website.

Members of the District of Columbia Judicial Nomination Commission

Honorable Emmet G. Sullivan, Chair
United States District Court for the District of Columbia
United States Courthouse
333 Constitution Avenue, NW
Chambers 4935-Annex
Washington, DC  20001
(202) 354-3260
[email protected]

Ronald S. Flagg, Esq.
Legal Services Corporation
3333 K Street, NW
Washington, DC 20007
(202) 295-1620
[email protected]

Mr. William Lucy
1831 Sudbury Lane, NW
Washington, DC  20012
(301) 520-0576
[email protected]

Natalie O. Ludaway, Esq.
Office of the Attorney General
441 4th Street, NW, Suite 1100 S
Washington, DC  20001
(202) 724-1521
[email protected]

John J. McAvoy, Esq.
3110 Brandywine Street, NW
Washington, DC  20008
(202) 966-8544
[email protected]

Woody N. Peterson, Esq.
1775 Pennsylvania Avenue, Suite 375    
Washington, DC, 20006
D:(202) 899-4103     
F (612) 336-9100      
[email protected]

Rev. Morris L. Shearin, Sr.                        
Israel Baptist Church
1251 Saratoga Avenue, NE
Washington, DC  20018
(202) 269-0288
[email protected]