Judicial Nomination Commission

DC Agency Top Menu

-A +A
Bookmark and Share

Notice of Vacancy in the Office of Chief Judge of the District of Columbia Court of Appeals

Tuesday, December 6, 2016

The Honorable Eric T. Washington will resign from the office of Chief Judge of the District of Columbia Court of Appeals, effective March 10, 2017. The District of Columbia Judicial Nomination Commission (“Commission”) is responsible for designating Chief Judge Washington’s successor, pursuant to DC Code § 1-204.31(b). Active judges of the Court of Appeals are eligible to apply for designation to a term of up to four-years as Chief Judge by submitting a statement of interest and complete application materials to the Commission. Any individual, organization, or bar association may submit a written nomination of an eligible active judge for the position of Chief Judge, with the consent of the judge.

All statements of interest, nominations, and application materials must be received by the Commission no later than 12:00 p.m. on January 3, 2017. Statements of interest and nominations must address the candidate’s (a) interest in court administration; (b) administrative and management ability and experience; (c) ability to lead the Court and to promote a sense of cooperation and collegiality among the judges, the Court staff, and other governmental and non-governmental entities; (d) ability to promote confidence in the Court and the judicial system; and (e) ability to provide intellectual leadership. Application instructions are on the Commission’s website, as is a list of current Commission members.

The Commission will publish the names and statements of interest of the candidates. Comments on candidates from the bench, bar, and public are welcome, and must be received no later than January 23, 2017. The Commission will provide an online evaluation form to facilitate the submission of comments once all applications have been received. More information is available on the Commission’s website.

Questions should be directed to the Commission’s Executive Director at (202) 879-0478 or [email protected].


The Commission members are:

Honorable Emmet G. Sullivan, Chair
United States District Court for the District of Columbia
United States Courthouse
333 Constitution Avenue, NW
Chambers 4935-Annex
Washington, DC  20001
(202) 354-3260
[email protected]

Ronald S. Flagg, Esq.
Legal Services Corporation
3333 K Street, NW
Washington, DC 20007
(202) 295-1620
[email protected]

Mr. William Lucy
1831 Sudbury Lane, NW
Washington, DC  20012
(301) 520-0576
[email protected]

Natalie O. Ludaway, Esq.
Office of the Attorney General
441 4th Street, NW, Suite 1100 S
Washington, DC  20001
(202) 724-1521
[email protected]

John J. McAvoy, Esq.
3110 Brandywine Street, NW
Washington, DC  20008
(202) 966-8544
[email protected]

Woody N. Peterson, Esq.
1775 Pennsylvania Avenue, Suite 375    
Washington, DC, 20006
D:(202) 899-4103     
F (612) 336-9100      
[email protected]

Rev. Morris L. Shearin, Sr.                        
Israel Baptist Church
1251 Saratoga Avenue, NE
Washington, DC  20018
(202) 269-0288
[email protected]