Sorry, you need to enable JavaScript to visit this website.


Judicial Nomination Commission

DC Agency Top Menu

-A +A
Bookmark and Share

Judicial Nomination Commission Seeks Comments on Candidates for Chief Judge of the Superior Court of the District of Columbia

Tuesday, May 19, 2020

The following Superior Court judges in active service are candidates for designation to a four-year term as Chief Judge of the Superior Court of the District of Columbia, commencing October 1, 2020:

Hon. Anita Josey-Herring
Hon. Milton C. Lee, Jr.
Hon. Lynn Leibovitz

The candidates have submitted statements of interest, available on the Commission’s website: Additional materials submitted by the candidates are available upon request, and may, under certain circumstances, be reviewed by appointment only at the Commission’s office, 515 5th Street, NW, Suite 235, Washington, DC.

The Commission invites comments from the bench, bar, and public regarding these candidates for designation as Chief Judge. Comments may be submitted by online survey, available at:, by paper copy of the survey available on the Commission’s website, or by submitting a letter of comment. All comments must be received by no later than June 19, 2020. Please note: All comments, surveys, and letters received become part of the confidential file for this Chief Judge designation process. The Commission may discuss topics raised in the comments with the candidates, but will do so either by aggregating the comments, or otherwise ensuring that the source of the comments and the identity of the commenter are not revealed unless the commenter consents to the disclosure of his or her identity. Please visit the Commission’s website for more information and instructions for submitting comments.

Contact the Commission’s Executive Director for more information or to schedule a review of any publicly available additional candidate materials, at (202) 879-0478 or [email protected].

Members of the District of Columbia Judicial Nomination Commission

Honorable Emmet G. Sullivan, Chair
United States District Court for the District of Columbia
United States Courthouse
333 Constitution Avenue, NW
Chambers 4935-Annex
Washington, DC  20001
(202) 354-3260
[email protected]

Mr. William Lucy
1831 Sudbury Lane, NW
Washington, DC  20012
(301) 520-0576
[email protected]

John J. McAvoy, Esq.
3110 Brandywine Street, NW
Washington, DC  20008
(202) 966-8544
[email protected]

Addy R. Schmitt, Esq.
Miller & Chevalier, Chtd.
900 16th Street, NW
Washington, DC 20006
[email protected]

Benjamin F. Wilson, Esq.
Beveridge & Diamond, PC
1350 I St NW, #700
Washington, DC 20005
(202) 789-6023
[email protected]

The Honorable Marie C. Johns
1400 K Street, NW
Suite 1000
Washington, DC 20005-2403
(202) 434-9124
[email protected]

Professor Deborah Epstein
Georgetown University Law Center
600 New Jersey Avenue, NW
Suite 334
Washington, DC 20001
(202) 662-9675
[email protected]