Judicial Nomination Commission

DC Agency Top Menu

-A +A
Bookmark and Share

Chief Judge Candidates

The following Superior Court judges in active service are candidates for designation to a four-year term as Chief Judge of the Superior Court of the District of Columbia, commencing October 1, 2020:

Hon. Anita Josey-Herring Judge Josey-Herring Statement of Interest 

Hon. Milton C. Lee, Jr. Judge Lee Statement of Interest Appendices to Statement of Interest 

Hon. Lynn Leibovitz Judge Leibovitz Statement of Interest 

The Commission invites comments by no later than 5 pm on Friday, June 19, 2020, regarding the fitness of the applicants for the position of Chief Judge of the Superior Court of the District of Columbia.

The Commission has created a web-based survey to facilitate the comment process, available at: https://www.surveymonkey.com/r/MBBRTJV.

Comments may also be submitted by completing a paper copy of the survey, available here

Comments may also be submitted by letter. Written comments should address the candidate’s: (a) interest in court administration; (b) administrative and management ability and experience; (c) ability to lead the Court and to promote a sense of cooperation and collegiality among the judges, the Court staff, and other governmental and non-governmental entities; (d) ability to promote confidence in the Court and the judicial system; and (e) ability to provide intellectual leadership.

Letters and hard copies of the survey should be sent to the Commission via mail (515 5th Street, NW, Suite 235, Washington, DC 20001), email ([email protected]), or fax ((202) 737-9126). All comments must be received by no later than 5 pm on June 19, 2020.

All comments, surveys, and letters received become part of the confidential file for this Chief Judge designation process. The Commission may discuss topics raised in the comments with the candidates, but will do so either by aggregating the comments, or otherwise ensuring that the source of the comments and the identity of the commenter are not revealed unless the commenter consents to the disclosure of his or her identity.

The candidates have each submitted statements of interest, which are provided above. Additional materials submitted by the candidates are available upon request, and may, under certain circumstances, be reviewed by appointment only at the Commission’s office. Contact Executive Director Bianca Garcia at (202) 879-0478 or by email at [email protected] for more information or to schedule an appointment.