Sorry, you need to enable JavaScript to visit this website.


Judicial Nomination Commission

DC Agency Top Menu

-A +A
Bookmark and Share

Judicial Nomination Commission Seeks Comments on Candidates for Chief Judge of the Superior Court of the District of Columbia

Monday, May 13, 2024

The following Superior Court judges in active service are candidates for designation to a four-year term as Chief Judge of the Superior Court of the District of Columbia, commencing October 1, 2024: 

Hon. Marisa J. Demeo
Hon. Milton C. Lee, Jr.

The candidates have submitted statements of interest, available on the Commission’s website:

The Commission invites comments from the bench, bar, and public regarding these candidates for designation as Chief Judge. Comments may be submitted by online survey, available at:, by paper copy of the survey available on the Commission’s website, or by submitting a letter of comment. All comments must be received by no later than June 20, 2024. Please note: All comments, surveys, and letters received become part of the confidential file for this Chief Judge designation process. The Commission may discuss topics raised in the comments with the candidates, but will do so either by aggregating the comments, or otherwise ensuring that the source of the comments and the identity of the commenter are not revealed unless the commenter consents to the disclosure of his or her identity. Please visit the Commission’s website for more information and instructions for submitting comments.

Contact the Commission’s Executive Director if additional information is needed at (202) 879-0478 or [email protected].

Members of the District of Columbia Judicial Nomination Commission

The Honorable Marie C. Johns
1400 K Street, NW
Suite 1000
Washington, DC 20005-2403
(202) 434-9124
[email protected]

Benjamin F. Wilson, Esq.
7825 Orchid Street, N.W.
Washington, DC 20012
(202) 657-2534
[email protected] 

Addy R. Schmitt, Esq.
Harris St. Laurent & Wechsler LLP
1775 Pennsylvania Avenue, NW
Suite 650
Washington, DC 20006
(202) 617-5791
[email protected]

Vincent H. Cohen, Jr., Esq.
Dechert LLP
1900 K Street, NW
Washington, DC 20006-1110
(202) 261-3432
[email protected]

Yaida O. Ford, Esq.
Ford Law Pros P.C.
1001 L Street, SE
Washington, DC, 20003
(202) 792-4946
[email protected] 

The Honorable Linda W. Cropp
4001 18th Street, NW
Washington, DC  20011
(202) 726-0505
[email protected]

The Honorable Tanya S. Chutkan
United States District Court
for the District of Columbia
United States Courthouse
333 Constitution Avenue, NW
Washington, DC 20001
(202) 354-3390
[email protected]