Sorry, you need to enable JavaScript to visit this website.


Judicial Nomination Commission

DC Agency Top Menu

-A +A
Bookmark and Share

Judicial Nomination Commission Seeks Comments on the Qualifications of Chief Judge Anna Blackburne-Rigsby for Redesignation as Chief Judge of the District of Columbia Court of Appeals

Tuesday, November 17, 2020

Members of the bench, bar, and public are hereby notified by the District of Columbia Judicial Nomination Commission (the “Commission”) that the Hon. Anna Blackburne-Rigsby is the sole candidate for designation as Chief Judge of the District of Columbia Court of Appeals, commencing March 17, 2021. Chief Judge Blackburne-Rigsby has submitted a statement of interest, available on the Commission’s website,

The Commission invites comments from the bench, bar, and public regarding Chief Judge Blackburne-Rigsby’s candidacy for redesignation as Chief Judge. Comments may be submitted by online survey at , by paper copy of the survey available on the Commission’s website, or by submitting a letter of comment. All comments must be received by no later than 5:00 p.m. on December 18, 2020.

All comments, surveys, and letters received become part of the confidential file for this Chief Judge redesignation process. The Commission may discuss topics raised in the comments with the candidate, but will do so either by aggregating the comments or otherwise ensuring that the source of the comments, and the identity of the commenter are not revealed unless the commenter consents to the disclosure of his or her identity. Please visit the Commission’s website for more information and instructions for submitting comments.

Contact the Commission’s Executive Director if additional information is needed at (202) 879-0478 or [email protected].  

Members of the District of Columbia Judicial Nomination Commission

Honorable Emmet G. Sullivan, Chair
United States District Court for the District of Columbia
United States Courthouse
333 Constitution Avenue, NW
Chambers 4935-Annex
Washington, DC  20001
(202) 354-3260
[email protected]

Mr. William Lucy
1831 Sudbury Lane, NW
Washington, DC  20012
(301) 520-0576
[email protected]

John J. McAvoy, Esq.
3110 Brandywine Street, NW
Washington, DC  20008
(202) 966-8544
[email protected]

Addy R. Schmitt, Esq.
Miller & Chevalier, Chtd.
900 16th Street, NW
Black Lives Matter Plaza
Washington, DC 20006
(202) 626-5837
[email protected]

Benjamin F. Wilson, Esq.
Beveridge & Diamond, PC
1350 I St NW, #700
Washington, DC 20005
(202) 789-6023
[email protected]

The Honorable Marie C. Johns
1400 K Street, NW
Suite 1000
Washington, DC 20005-2403
(202) 434-9124
[email protected]

Professor Deborah Epstein
Georgetown University Law Center
600 New Jersey Avenue, NW
Suite 334
Washington, DC 20001
(202) 662-9675
[email protected]