Judicial Nomination Commission

DC Agency Top Menu

-A +A
Bookmark and Share

Judicial Officer Applicants

Commission has received applications from members of the Bar, listed below, interested in appointment to the Superior Court of the District of Columbia, to fill the vacancies created by the upcoming retirements of the Honorable Michael L. Rankin and the Honorable Judith Bartnoff.

Magdalena A. Acevedo
Mark D. Back
Dineen A. Baker
Peggy Gilbert Bennett
Cory M. Chandler
Dwight E. Crawley
Eric S. Glover
Fara T. Gold
Hon. Heide L. Herrmann
Lee W. Jackson
Bridget Bailey Lipscomb
Elbert L. Maxwell, II
Hon. Shelly A. Mulkey
Jeffrey S. Nestler
Danny Lam Nguyen
Edward A. O’Connell
Peter C. Pfaffenroth
S. Micah Salb
Hon. Kenia Seoane López
John F. Stanton
Emile C. Thompson
Peter K. Tompa
Alicia D. Washington
David Harding Wetmore
Sharmian Lynell White

The Commission invites comments by no later than 5 pm on Friday, September 20, 2019, regarding the fitness of the applicants to the vacancies created by the retirements of Judge Michael L. Rankin and Judge Judith Bartnoff. Applicants can be evaluated with respect to eight categories:

  1. Judicial Temperament (e.g., ability to treat everyone with respect; willingness to listen with patience and courtesy; collegiality);
  2. Professional Skills and Abilities (e.g., experience; intellectual ability; analytical skills; knowledge of the law and its underlying principles; knowledge of the rules of procedure and evidence; ability and willingness to learn and develop professionally);
  3. Ethics (e.g., integrity; impartiality; objectivity; sound judgment; restraint);
  4. Commitment to Diversity (e.g., treats people equally, fairly and with respect, regardless of gender, race, national origin, economic status, sexual orientation or any other factor; promotes inclusiveness of women and minorities);
  5. Leadership and Communication Skills (e.g., ability to communicate clearly and succinctly; ability to inspire respect and confidence; decisiveness);
  6. Efficiency and Organizational Skills (e.g., ability to work efficiently and under time constraints; ability to work constructively with others; ability to manage time);
  7. Writing Skills (e.g., ability to write clearly, concisely and persuasively); and
  8. Community Service (e.g., pro bono activities; public service; volunteer activities; civic or charitable activities or memberships).

The Commission has created a web-based survey to facilitate the comment process, available at: https://www.surveymonkey.com/r/CJ9CPPJ Comments may also be provided by letter, and should address the categories above. Letters are to be sent to the Commission via mail (515 5th Street, NW, Suite 235, Washington, DC 20001), email ([email protected]), or fax ((202) 879-0755). All comments must be received by no later than 5 pm on September 20, 2019.

All comments submitted to the Commission become part of an applicant’s confidential file for two years. They will not be publicly released or provided to the applicant. The content of any comments discussed with an applicant will not reveal the source of such comment, absent written consent by the individual providing the comment.