Sorry, you need to enable JavaScript to visit this website.


Judicial Nomination Commission

DC Agency Top Menu

-A +A
Bookmark and Share

Judicial Nomination Commission Invites Comments on Applicants for Pending Judicial Vacancies

Tuesday, May 11, 2021

Members of the bench, bar, and the public are hereby notified by the District of Columbia Judicial Nomination Commission (the "Commission") that there are thirty-three (33) applicants for the pending vacancies on the Superior Court of the District of Columbia created by the retirements of the Honorable Rhonda Reid Winston, the Honorable Frederick H. Weisberg, and the Honorable Russell F. Canan. The Commission will submit the names of three applicants to the President of the United States for his consideration to nominate and appoint a judge for each vacancy. 

The applicants are:

Mark D. Back  
Sheila B. Berman 
Kendra D. Briggs 
Hon. Tyrona T. De Witt 
John R. Ewers, Jr.  
Andrew Fois 
Fara T. Gold  
Hon. Sharon E. Goodie 
Hon. Lisa M. Gregory 
Emily A. Gunston  
Hon. Paul B. Handy 
Karlyn J. Hunter 
Ray D. McKenzie 
Philip A. Medley  
Hon. Leslie A. Meek 
Danny Lam Nguyen 
Hon. Lloyd U. Nolan, Jr. 
Hon. Adrienne J. Noti 
Edward A. O’Connell  
Elizabeth G. Oyer 
Peter C. Pfaffenroth 
Hon. Judith E. Pipe 
Caroline S. Platt  
Jayesh M. Rathod  
Angela S. Robinson 
S. Micah Salb 
Hon. Ebony Michelle Scott 
John F. Stanton 
Hon. Raquel Trabal 
Hon. Sherry M. Trafford 
Donald Walker Tunnage 
Elana J. Tyrangiel 
Hon. Vytas Varekojis Vergeer 

The Commission invites comments by no later than 5:00 p.m. on Thursday, June 10, 2021, regarding the fitness of the above-listed applicants for a judicial position on the District of Columbia Court of Appeals. Applicants can be evaluated with respect to eight categories:

1. Judicial Temperament (e.g., ability to treat everyone with respect; willingness to listen with patience and courtesy; collegiality);

2. Professional Skills and Abilities (e.g., experience; intellectual ability; analytical skills; knowledge of the law and its underlying principles; knowledge of the rules of procedure and evidence; ability and willingness to learn and develop professionally);

3. Ethics (e.g., integrity; impartiality; objectivity; sound judgment; restraint);

4. Commitment to Diversity (e.g., treats people equally, fairly and with respect, regardless of gender, race, national origin, economic status, sexual orientation or any other factor; promotes inclusiveness of women and minorities);

5. Leadership and Communication Skills (e.g., ability to communicate clearly and succinctly; ability to inspire respect and confidence; decisiveness);

6. Efficiency and Organizational Skills (e.g., ability to work efficiently and under time constraints; ability to work constructively with others; ability to manage time);

7. Writing Skills (e.g., ability to write clearly, concisely and persuasively); and

8. Community Service (e.g., pro bono activities; public service; volunteer activities; civic or charitable activities or memberships).

The Commission has created a web-based survey to facilitate the comment process and has posted the applicants' biographical sketches at: Comments may also be provided by letter, and should address the categories above. Letters are to be sent to the Commission via mail (515 5th Street, NW, Suite 235, Washington, DC 20001), email ([email protected]), or fax (202) 879-0755).

All comments submitted to the Commission become part of an applicant’s confidential file for two years. They will not be publicly released or provided to the applicant. The content of any comments discussed with an applicant will not reveal the source of such comment, absent written consent by the individual providing the comment.

Any technical problems or questions should be directed to the Commission at (202) 879-0478 or [email protected].  

Members of the District of Columbia Judicial Nomination Commission

Honorable Emmet G. Sullivan, Chair
United States District Court for the District of Columbia
United States Courthouse
333 Constitution Avenue, NW
Chambers 4935-Annex
Washington, DC  20001
(202) 354-3260
[email protected]

Mr. William Lucy
1831 Sudbury Lane, NW
Washington, DC  20012
(301) 520-0576
[email protected]

John J. McAvoy, Esq.
3110 Brandywine Street, NW
Washington, DC  20008
(202) 966-8544
[email protected]

Addy R. Schmitt, Esq.
Miller & Chevalier, Chtd.
900 16th Street, NW
Black Lives Matter Plaza
Washington, DC 20006
(202) 626-5837
[email protected]

Benjamin F. Wilson, Esq.
Beveridge & Diamond, PC
1350 I St NW, #700
Washington, DC 20005
(202) 789-6023
[email protected]

The Honorable Marie C. Johns
1400 K Street, NW
Suite 1000
Washington, DC 20005-2403
(202) 434-9124
[email protected]

Professor Deborah Epstein
Georgetown University Law Center
600 New Jersey Avenue, NW
Suite 334
Washington, DC 20001
(202) 662-9675
[email protected]