Sorry, you need to enable JavaScript to visit this website.


Judicial Nomination Commission

DC Agency Top Menu

-A +A
Bookmark and Share

Judicial Nomination Commission Invites Comments on Applicants for Pending Judicial Vacancies

Wednesday, January 11, 2023

(Washington, DC) – Members of the bench, bar, and the public are hereby notified by the District of Columbia Judicial Nomination Commission (the "Commission") that there are twenty-one (21)   applicants for the pending vacancy on the Superior Court of the District of Columbia created by the retirement of the Honorable William W. Nooter and the Honorable John M. Campbell. The Commission will submit the names of three applicants to the President of the United States for his consideration to nominate and appoint a judge for each vacancy. The applicants are: 

Elizabeth A. Aloi, Esq.
Hon. Rahkel Bouchet 
Hon. Christopher Costa
Hon. Claudia A. Crichlow   
Kevann A. Gardner, Esq.
Fara T. Gold, Esq.    
Hon. Sharon E. Goodie   
Thomas R. Healy, Esq.   
Lee W. Jackson, Esq.   
Hon. Tanya M. Jones Bosier
Ray D. McKenzie, Esq.  
Hon. Lloyd U. Nolan, Jr.
Kenechukwu O. Okocha, Esq.
Special Master Katherine E. Oler   
Hon. Judith E. Pipe   
Timothy R. Ramnitz, Esq.  
Micah Salb, Esq.   
Michael L. Shenkman, Esq.   
Hon. Raquel Trabal   
Hon. Sherry M. Trafford   
Charles J. Willoughby, Jr., Esq.

The Commission invites comments by no later than 5:00 p.m. on Friday, February 24, 2023, regarding the fitness of the above-listed applicants for a judicial position on the Superior Court of the District of Columbia. Applicants can be evaluated with respect to eight categories: 

  1.  Judicial Temperament (e.g., ability to treat everyone with respect; willingness to listen with patience and courtesy; collegiality);  
  2. Professional Skills and Abilities (e.g., experience; intellectual ability; analytical skills; knowledge of the law and its underlying principles; knowledge of the rules of procedure and evidence; ability and willingness to learn and develop professionally);
  3. Ethics (e.g., integrity; impartiality; objectivity; sound judgment; restraint);
  4. Commitment to Diversity (e.g., treats people equally, fairly and with respect, regardless of gender, race, national origin, economic status, sexual orientation or any other factor; promotes inclusiveness of women and minorities);
  5. Leadership and Communication Skills (e.g., ability to communicate clearly and succinctly; ability to inspire respect and confidence; decisiveness);
  6. Efficiencyand Organizational Skills (e.g., ability to work efficiently and under time constraints; ability to work constructively with others; ability to manage time);
  7. Writing Skills (e.g., ability to write clearly, concisely and persuasively); and
  8. Community Service (e.g., pro bono activities; public service; volunteer activities; civic or charitable activities or memberships).

The Commission has created a web-based survey to facilitate the comment process and has posted the applicants' biographical sketches at: Comments may also be provided by letter and should address the categories above. Letters are to be sent to the Commission via mail (515 5th Street, NW, Suite 235, Washington, DC 20001), email ([email protected]), or fax ((202) 879-0755). 

All comments submitted to the Commission become part of an applicant's confidential file for two years. They will not be publicly released or provided to the applicant. The content of any comments discussed with an applicant will not reveal the source of such comment, absent written consent by the individual providing the comment. 

Any technical problems or questions should be directed to the Commission at (202) 879-0477 or [email protected]

Members of the District of Columbia Judicial Nomination Commission

The Honorable Marie C. Johns
1400 K Street, NW
Suite 1000
Washington, DC 20005-2403
(202) 434-9124
[email protected]

Benjamin F. Wilson, Esq.
7825 Orchid Street, N.W.
Washington, DC  20012
(202) 657-2534
[email protected] 

Addy R. Schmitt, Esq.
Miller & Chevalier, Chtd.
900 16th Street, NW
Black Lives Matter Plaza
Washington, DC 20006
(202) 626-5837
[email protected]

Vincent H. Cohen, Jr., Esq.
Dechert LLP
1900 K Street, NW
Washington, DC 20006-1110
(202) 261-3432
[email protected]

Yaida O. Ford, Esq.
Ford Law Pros P.C.
1001 L Street, SE
Washington, DC, 20003
(202) 792-4946
[email protected]  

The Honorable Linda W. Cropp
4001 18th Street, NW
Washington, DC  20011
(202) 726-0505
[email protected]

The Honorable Tanya S. Chutkan
United States District Court   
for the District of Columbia
United States Courthouse
333 Constitution Avenue, NW
Washington, DC  20001 
(202) 354-3390
[email protected]